Home Uncategorized Announcing November 2018 Endorsements

Announcing November 2018 Endorsements

VCWPC PAC and Board members ratified the recommendations for November 2018 candidate endorsements. Below is the list of endorsed candidates. This was after VCWPC members attended two nights of town hall interviews with candidates for city council, school board, and community college board. The candidates who were invited to the town halls all submitted their application in on time and met the organization’s bottom line issues: Social Justice, Reproductive Health, Economic Justice, Educational Justice, and Environmental Justice. Members voted for their recommendations after hearing from the candidates who attended and those recommendations were then ratified by PAC and Board.  Congratulations to all and thank you members for being involved and part of the process!

2018 Endorsed Candidates

Eleni Kounalakis, Lt. Governor www.eleniforca.com
Katie Hill, US Congress CA-25 www.katiehillforcongress.com
Christy Smith, CA State Assembly, AD-38 www.christysmithforassembly.com
Julia Brownley*, US Congress CA-26 www.juliabrownley.com
S. Monique Limón*, CA Assembly, AD-37  www.limonforassembly.com
Jacqui Irwin*, CA Assembly, AD-44  www.JacquiIrwin.com
PAULA NATHAN County Brd Of Education, Area 2
JEANNETTE SANCHEZ-PALACIOS Community College Dist, Area 1 www.ElectJeannette.com
DIANNE MCKAY Community College Dist, Area 2 www.electdiannemckay.com
JENNY FITZGERALD Conejo Valley Unified School District
CINDY GOLDBERG Conejo Valley Unified School District
JANE E. BRUNTON-MUÑOZ Fillmore Unified School District
LIZ SOTO Moorpark Unified School District
MADHU BAJAJ Ventura Unified School District, Area 4 www.madhubajaj.com
KAREN SHER* Oxnard Union High School District
SUSAN SANTANGELO Camarillo City Council
LYNN EDMONDS Fillmore City Council
JENNY CROSSWHITE* Santa Paula City Council
GINGER GHERARDI* Santa Paula City Council
CARINA ARMENTA Simi Valley City Mayor www.carinaarmenta.com
RUTH LUEVANOS Simi Valley City Council
SOFIA RUBALCAVA San Buenaventura City Council, District 1
MARIE LAKIN San Buenaventura City Council, District 5 www.marielakin.org
LORRIE BROWN San Buenaventura City Council, District 6
CARMEN RAMIREZ* Oxnard City Council, District 2 www.carmen4oxnard.com
VIANEY LUCIA LOPEZ Oxnard City Council, District 6 Short Term www.vianeyforoxnard.com
MARY ANN ROONEY* Oxnard Harbor District www.maryannerooney.net



Hillary Rodham Clinton, US President www.hillaryclinton.com lost
Kamala Harris, US Senate kamalaharris.org, won
Julia Brownley *, US Congress CA-26 http://juliabrownley.com won
Hannah-Beth Jackson *, CA State Senate, SD-19  www.hannah-bethjackson.com won
S. Monique Limón, CA Assembly, AD-37  www.limonforassembly.com won
Christy Smith, CA Assembly, AD-38 www.christysmithforassembly.com lost
Jacqui Irwin *, CA Assembly, AD-44  www.JacquiIrwin.com won
Carla Castilla, Ventura Co. Board of Sup, Dist 3   www.CarlaCastilla.com lost
Peggy Buckles *, Conejo Valley Unified School District http://www.peggybucklesforschoolboard.com/ lost
Betsy Connolly *, Conejo Valley Unified School District http://www.electbetsyconnolly.com/ won
Vianey Lopez *, Hueneme Elementary School District https://lopezforhuenemeschooldistrict.com/ won
Tiffany Lopez, Oxnard City Clerk  http://lopezforclerk.com/ lost
Genevieve Flores-Haro, Oxnard City Council  http://genevievefloresharo.com/ lost
Laura Gallardo, Oxnard Harbor Commission  lygtlaloc7@yahoo.com lost
Ruby Durias, Oxnard School District Area 1  https://www.facebook.com/drrubyelect lost
Veronica Diaz, Oxnard School District, Area 4  V.D.F@outlook.com
Roseann Mikos *, Moorpark City Council  http://www.roseann-mikos.org/ won
Christina Urias *, Santa Paula Unified School District   http://www.vote-4-tina-urias.com/ won
Anne La Fianza, Thousand Oaks City Council  http://annelafianzafortocouncil.com/ lost
Lorrie Brown, Ventura City Council  http://www.lorriebrownforventura.com/ lost
Cheryl Heitmann *, Ventura City Council  http://re-electcherylheitmann.com/ won
Jeannette Sanchez-Palacios, Ventura City Council  http://www.jsp4ventura.com/ lost
Jackie Moran, Ventura Unified School District http://jackiemoran.net/ won
Sabrena Rodriguez, Ventura Unified School District http://www.sabrenarodriguez.com/home won


Julia Brownley*, 26th Congressional District won
Lois Capps*, 24th Congressional District won
Jacqui Irwin,
44th District California State Assembly won
Mary Anne Rooney,
Oxnard Harbor District won
Carmen Ramirez,
Oxnard City Council won
Ginger Gherardi,
Santa Paula City Council won
Barbra Williamson,
Simi Valley City Council lost
Rachel Ulrich, Ventura County Board of Education, District 1 won
Pat Phelps,
Conejo Valley Unified School District Board won
Donna Branstrom
Hueneme Elementary School District Board
Darlene Bruno, Hueneme Elementary School District Board
Ana Del Rio Barba*,
Oxnard Elementary School District Board
Debra Cordes Oxnard Elementary School District Board
Veronica Robles Solis, Oxnard Elementary School District Board
Beatriz Herrera
Oxnard Union High School District Board
Karen Sher Oxnard Union High School District Board won
Socorro Lopez-Hanson, Oxnard Union High School District Board


Lorrie Brown, Ventura City Council (Nov. 2013) lost

Jo Ann Olivares, Oxnard City Council (Apr. 2013) lost


Julia Brownley 26th Congressional District won
Hannah-Beth Jackson 19th Senate District  won
Fran Pavley* 27th Senate District won
Betsy Connolly* Conejo Valley Unified won
Linda Taylor* Ojai Unified won
Christina Urias Santa Paula Unified won (previously elected to SP High School Board which is being replaced by the Unified School district) Vianey Lopez Port Hueneme School Board won
Sylvia Alejandra Lizama Oxnard Union HIgh School District lost (came in 3rd of 4 candidates – top 2 elected)
Roseann Mikos* Moorpark City Council won
Carmen Ramirez Oxnard Mayor  lost (came in 2nd of 4 candidates – will continue her term on City Council)
Barbra Willilamson* Simi Valley City Council lost (came in 3rd of 7 candidates – top 2 elected)
Jacqui Irwin* Thousand Oaks City Council won
Debbie Birenbaum Thousand Oaks City Council lost (came in 6th of 9 candidates – top 2 elected)
Kate O’Brien* Rancho Simi Recreation & Parks District won
Elaine Freeman* Rancho Simi Recreation & Parks District  won
Janna Orkney Calleguas Muni Water District Div 2 lost (came in 2nd of 4 candidates – will continue her term on Triunfo Sanitation Dist board) Christy Weir Ventura County Supervisor, Dist. 1 (lost in April primary – will continue her term on Ventura City Council)


Christy Weir* Ventura City Council  won

Cheryl Heitmann Ventura City Council won    


* denotes incumbent

 Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit Share on LinkedIn
Comments Off on Announcing November 2018 Endorsements  comments